‘CSI’ Exclusive: Let’s Separate The Rumors From The Facts!

Posted on April 14, 2011

3



Between recent reports that Christina Ricci would appear on CSI (that has since been retracted), rumored contract negotiations, and more  news that has people on the Internet going ‘huh?’, I thought it might be best to get one of the show’s writers on the phone and find out what is happening. So let’s see what writer Christopher Barbour has to say!

Saunders: I’m reading online that Marg Helgenberger (Catherine Willows) spoke with a French magazine and says she will be appearing in season 12, and Catherine will be leaving the team early on. Is there some truth to that?

Barbour: I know she will be returning for next season and I don’t know when she would depart. I think that’s still up in the air to some degree. As I’ve mentioned to you before, we obviously want to try to keep it open so she can return in the future and we really don’t want her to leave at all. (laughs) But I don’t know exactly what the details would be when she leaves or how long she will be here. I’m fairly confident she will return for season 12 to some degree.

Saunders: What’s the news with Billy Petersen (Gil Grissom)? Will he be making an appearance in the season finale?

Barbour: As far as this year’s finale, as far as I know, there will be no special appearances.

Saunders: Laurence Fishburne (Ray Langston). Will he be back next season or is season 11 his last?

Barbour: I certainly hope he is coming back. We don’t know. In reality, the actors’ have contracts that are being renegotiated. I have no connection to that whatsoever. I probably know as much as you know from reading online, really. We hope that he returns and are planning as of now that he will return.

(laughs) I certainly don’t want to give away any of the suspense that happens in the finale. I don’t want to give away too many spoilers because I don’t want to ruin the surprise. There will be a final confrontation between Langston and Haskell (Bill Irwin), and there will be consequences to that.

Saunders: When is your next episode airing?

Barbour: Actually, Don McGill and I wrote episode 21 (airing May 5th).

Posted in: journalism